成就及發展里程

三十年輝煌歷史

香港公開大學(公大)肯定是一個成功的故事。公大除了提供優質的高等教育外,亦是一所管理完善的自負盈虧院校。公開大學成立初期規模雖小,但在短短三十年間,已由一所只提供遙距課程的學院,發展成為一所多元化及全面的綜合性大學,同時提供全日制學士學位、深造學位,以及兼讀制課程。大學一直為社會各行各業培育所需人才,對推動香港經濟發展作出深遠的貢獻。現時,我們是全港最具規模的自資院校,畢業生人數超過120,000人。以全日制學生人數計算,公大在本地大學中排名第六。



由遙距進修學院發展至綜合性的大學

香港公開大學是開辦開放及遙距教育的先鋒。大學前身為「香港公開進修學院」,於1989年由政府創辦。自成立以來,學院致力實踐「有教無類」的使命,為在職人士提供優質及彈性的進修機會。經過多年的穩步發展,公大於1997年5月正名為「香港公開大學」,標誌著外界普遍認同本校的學術成就及對高等教育界的貢獻。

為配合香港的教育改革,大學於2001年首度推出五個全日制面授副學位課程,並於2003年推出第一個全日制面授學位課程,吸引了不少中學畢業生報讀,學生人數不斷攀升。公大於2007年加入「大學聯合招生辦法」,是大學的重要里程,顯示其實力與其他本地政府資助大學無異。


專業實用課程 迎合社會需要

與此同時,大學的課程發展亦一日千里。公大初期只開辦有限的兼讀制課程,後來不斷積極拓展課程種類、範圍,以及提升教學質素。時至今日,公開大學開辦約220個課程,包括約800個全日制或兼讀制的學科,而我們開辦的課程專業實用,積極回應市場的需求,緊貼不同行業的發展,例子包括大學具優勢的課程如創意藝術、檢測和認證、護理學、能源及環境學、幼兒教育、心理學、企業管治及款待管理等。

我們的努力亦獲得政府的認同。自2015年起,公開大學已有部分課程獲納入政府的「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」(SSSDP)。該計劃透過資助修讀自資院校的學生,為有殷切人力資源需求的特定行業培育人才。2018/19學年開始,公大獲分配的資助學額佔全數的三分之一,為自資院校之冠,顯示政府對公大課程質素的肯定,亦反映大學積極開辦專業課程以回應香港殷切需求的成果。

護理學課程為公大最受歡迎的課程之一。自2005年推出兩個護理學本科生課程以來,報讀人數持續上升。現時,公開大學每年的護理學課程畢業生人數為全港之冠。


擴展校園以配合急速發展

為配合大學的急速發展,公開大學歷年來開展了多個大型校園擴建工程項目。大學於1996年遷往何文田校舍現址;又於2000年在上環信德中心成立首個校外教學中心 ─ 港島教學中心,並作為李嘉誠專業進修學院的總部;其後於2009年完成第二期校舍的擴建工程。李嘉誠專業進修學院於2013年遷入葵興教學中心,空間比原來的港島教學中心增加約三倍。大學的賽馬會校園則於2014年正式啟用,作為創意藝術、檢測和認證,以及護理與健康相關課程的運作基地。新校舍不但為日益增多的學生提供更寬敞的空間,同時亦為課程配備了先進的教學設施。

近年,有鑑於人口老化帶來的挑戰及與日俱增的醫療服務需求,公開大學開展了新的校園發展計劃,興建賽馬會健康護理學院。大學除了獲政府批出土地及免息貸款外,亦得到香港賽馬會慈善信託基金捐款港幣二億八千一百萬元,以及社會各界的熱心捐助。新校舍預期於2020年落成,屆時一系列健康護理相關的課程將於新大樓運作,大樓更配備完善的教學設施以優化學生的學習體驗。此外,大樓亦將成為西九龍區的護理及健康教育樞紐。



高飛 創未來

誠然,公開大學在各方面均發展迅速:我們配置了先進的設施以配合各專業課程的教學需要;大力擴展實習及交流機會,為學生的事業及全人發展做好準備;我們的研究項目亦日益增多。此外,不少公大學生在不同本港及國際賽事中屢獲殊榮,並於創意藝術、科技、及商業比賽及活動中表現突出。他們的能力廣獲不同行業的僱主及領袖認同,並以其專業知識貢獻各行各業,造福社會。

公開大學能取得今日的非凡成就,全賴大學團隊的熱誠和全情投入,以及政府及社會各界的鼎力支持。在慶祝三十周年和回顧往績與成就的同時,大學將一如既往,積極面對新的機遇和迎接各種挑戰。憑藉共同的願景及信念,大學上下已準備就緒,在不久的將來再創高峰。

Achievements & Milestones

A Proud 30-year History

The Open University of Hong Kong (OUHK) is certainly a success story, not only as a provider of quality higher education, but also as a well-managed self-financing entity. From a small institution with humble beginnings, the OUHK has evolved from primarily a distance learning institution to become a full-fledged university providing full-time undergraduate and postgraduate programmes as well as part-time programmes in just three decades. Through nurturing talent to meet our society’s needs, we have made longstanding contributions to the advancement of Hong Kong’s economy. Today, we are the largest self-financing university in Hong Kong, grooming more than 120,000 graduates and ranks sixth among local universities in terms of full-time undergraduate number.



From Distance Learning Institution to Full-fledged University

The OUHK is a pioneer of open and distance education. Established by the Government in 1989 as The Open Learning Institute of Hong Kong (OLI), we have striven to achieve our mission of “Education for All”, making quality and flexible further education opportunities available to working adults. After years of steady development, the OUHK attained university title in May 1997, which is a testament to the wide recognition of our academic accomplishments and contributions to higher education.

In line with the Government’s education reform, we launched the first full-time, face-to-face programmes – five Associate Degree programmes in 2001 and a Bachelor’s degree in 2003. These programmes have attracted an increasing number of fresh secondary school leavers since then. The OUHK’s participation in the Government’s Joint University Programmes Admissions System in 2007 is another significant milestone that puts us on par with other established UGC institutions across Hong Kong.


Professional and Practical Programmes to Meet Society’s Needs

Parallel with this growth has been our programme development. From a relatively small number of part-time courses offered at the beginnings, we have undergone continuous and vigorous expansion in the range, scope and quality of our programme offerings. Today, we offer around 220 programmes made up of some 800 full-time and part-time courses. And this exponential growth has been a very focused one – we respond dynamically to market trends by tailoring our professional programmes to industry needs. Examples include our signature programmes in Creative Arts, Testing and Certification, Nursing, Energy and Environmental Studies, Early Childhood Education, Psychology, Corporate Governance and Hospitality Management.

Our efforts are also recognized by the Government. Since 2015, some of our full-time programmes have been included in the Government’s Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP), which subsidizes students on programmes offered by self-financing institutions that help meet Hong Kong’s manpower shortages in specific industries. In 2018–19, we had been allocated a third of the total quota of subsidized places, the largest share among our counterparts. This reflects not only the Government’s endorsement of our programme quality, but also our success in making available relevant professional programmes that meet the pressing needs of Hong Kong.

One of the most popular programmes is our nursing studies. Since the launch of the two undergraduate degree programmes in nursing in 2005, enrolment has been increasing and the OUHK now produces the largest number of nursing graduates of any institution in Hong Kong each year.


Campus Expansion to Cater for Rapid Growth

To cater for the rapid growth, the OUHK has undertaken significant campus expansion over the years. In 1996, the Institution moved to Ho Man Tin. In 2000, the OUHK’s first off-campus learning centre opened in Shun Tak Centre in Sheung Wan as the headquarters of Li Ka Shing Institute of Professional and Continuing Education (LiPACE). In 2009, the OUHK completed Phase II of the Main Campus. In 2013, LiPACE was moved to the Kwai Hing Learning Centre, which provides 3 times the space of the original premises. In 2014, the Jockey Club Campus was opened to house our new programmes in Creative Arts, Testing and Certification as well as Nursing and Healthcare. The expansion has provided not only more space for our growing student population, but also new state-of-the-art facilities to serve the needs of our programmes.

Recently, in view of the aging population and the rising needs for healthcare services in the community, the University has started a new campus project – the OUHK Jockey Club Institute of Healthcare (IOH). Besides the Government’s land grant and interest-free start-up loan, the OUHK has received a donation of HK$281 million from The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust as well as valuable contributions from many other donors towards the project. Upon completion in 2020, the IOH will house all our existing and new health-related programmes plus a suite of other facilities to enhance students’ learning experience. It will also become a health education and community health care hub in Western Kowloon area.



Going Further

Indeed, the OUHK has undergone rapid development on all fronts. Advanced facilities have been set up to facilitate specialized teaching and learning; a wide range of internship and exchange opportunities are provided for students to receive early engagement for career and all-round development; and our research is flourishing. Many of our students won prestigious competitions in local and international arenas, stood out in creative, scientific and business endeavours, and they have been valued by a wide range of employers, and become pillars of their profession and of the community.

These impressive successes would not have been possible without the dedication of the whole OUHK community as well as the support from the Government and the community at large. As we celebrate our 30th Anniversary and count our blessings over the years, we also look ahead to new opportunities and challenges. With shared vision and commitment, we are well prepared to go further to bring the University to new heights in the years to come.